Wuhou Shrine is also called Han Zhaolie Temple, or Memorial of Zhugeliang. It is a temple in memory of the famous Chinese Prime Minister from Three Kingdoms about 18 centuries ago. It was built in 223 AD when people started to build a tomb for Liu Bei, the king of Shu. Wuhou Shrine is the only one temple in China that has a king and a minister in a temple together. In China, three kingdoms are popular historical facts. There is three kingdoms culture. And Wuhou Shrine is one the most significant sites of this culture. Wuhou is the prime minister. And the name of the temple was after the prime minister instead of the king.
Wuhou Shrine is located in the city of Chengdu close to Jinli Old Street. It is easily accessed if you take a taxi. And if you use bus, the bus routes 1.10.57. 82.301.334.335.123.521.901.904 all go by Wuhou Shrine.
Han means the name of the time Zhuge Liang was in. Liu Bei, the king, was considered an offspring of the former Dynasty Han Dynasty and the royal family was named Liu as well. Zhaolie is the death name for Liu Bei. Liu Bei was the king of Shu, one of the three kingdoms. There is a 3-meter statue of Liu Bei in the temple. However the image of Liu Bei was built from the book.
Zhuge Liang Hall is the main temple of Wuhou Shrine. It has a statue of Zhuge Liang. Zhuge Liang was considered one of the smartest men in Chinese history. He was not only a wise prime minister, he was also an inventor, a successful military talent, a smart politician, and a respected leader. Zhege Liang’s temple was well preserved during Tang Dynasty as an example for the officials to learn after him. And local Chengdu people have more respect to Zhuge Liang even more than that they have towards Liu Bei the king.
It was the side walking around the space before the temple. It has placed the other important figures from the Shu Kingdom in total 28 people who had great tribute to the Shu Kingdom. The famous figures include Zhaoyun, Machao, Jiangwei, Huangzhong, Jianyong, Jiangwan, etc.
The king of Shu, Liu Bei, was buried here. Compared to other kings in China, this tomb is very economical. It is a big hump of dirt with lots of trees on it. Liu Bei died before Zhuge Liang. Zhuge Liang chose this place personally according to Yin and Yang. This tomb was next to Zhuge Liang’s hall.
Sanyi Temple was built at the beginning of Qing Dynasty and rebuilt in the 18th Century. This is the hall for the famous three brothers of Liu, Guan and Zhang. They are three brothers by oath instead of blood. In China, everyone knows the three brothers: Liu being the king and the oldest brother, Guan being the second one and he is the symbol of loyalty in Chinese Culture, Zhang being the youngest brother, he was known as rude and brave..
Nanjiao Park once was a separated park located next Wuhou Shrine and was later combined with the sheine together. Najiao Park wasbuilt as a memorial of Liuxiang, a patriotic general defended China during Japanese army invasion in WW2. It was built in 1938-1942. Now it is used as a park as part of Wuhou Shrine. There are many tea houses and sometimes art galleries to be displayed.
Other interests nearby: Jinli Old Street
Opening hours: everyday from 08:00 to 21:30 in the summer and from 8:00-18:30 in winter.
ecommended length of visiting: one day
Route: Chengdu - Jiuzhaigou
Route: Chengdu - Leshan - Emeishan - Chengdu
Route: Chengdu - Kangding - Gongga - Chengdu